loader image

Indian Open golf

The Indian Open, titled for sponsorship reasons as the Hero Indian Open since 2011, is the national open golf championship of India, organised by the Indian Golf Union. Founded in 1964, it was added to the Asia Golf Circuit schedule in 1970. In 1998 it became an event on the rival Omega Tour (known as the Asian Tour since 2004). Since 2015, it has also been co-sanctioned by the European Tour.

From 1964 until 2000, the tournament was held exclusively at either Delhi Golf Club or Royal Calcutta Golf Club. Since then it has been held at Classic Golf Resort in 2000 and 2001, Karnataka Golf Association in 2012, and DLF Golf and Country Club in 2009 and since 2017; all other editions have been held at Delhi Golf Club.


Year Tour(s) WinnerScoreTo parMargin of victory Runner(s)-upVenueRef.
Hero Indian Open
2021ASA, EURCancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2020ASA, EURCancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2019ASA, EUR Scotland Stephen Gallacher279-91 stroke Masahiro Kawamura DLF
2018ASA, EUR Matt Wallace277-11Play Andrew Johnston DLF
2017ASA, EUR Shiv Chawrasia (2)278-107 strokes Gavin Green DLF
2016ASA, EUR Shiv Chawrasia273-15 2 strokes Anirban Lahiri
Wang Jeung-hun
2015ASA, EUR Anirban Lahiri277-7Play Shiv Chawrasia Delhi
2014: No tournament due to scheduling changes (November to February)
2013ASA Bangladesh Siddikur Rahman 274−141 stroke India Anirban Lahiri
India Shiv Chawrasia
2012ASA Thaworn Wiratchant (2)270-14Play Richie RamsayKarnataka
2011ASA David Gleeson268-203 strokes Chiragh KumarDelhi